Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Bulkhead

Brightonuk

I am not sure where I saw this but I understand some people have replaced the scuttle bulkhead rivets with Rivnuts for easy access to the dash wiring.

Does anyone have a photo how this looks as I would like to have access to the dash wiring without the hassle of removing the scuttle each time.

I plan replace the bulkhead with a carbon panel but don't want to start drilling out rivets with no end plan.

Once removed is it re-installed behind the scuttle lip or over (outside) the lip 

EngineOut.jpg.65dcf4bbae9d6f6141ac20ce2ae67437.jpg

• 4 weeks later...

The car is a Superlite so no windscreen and no rivnuts on the side of the scuttle 

I have the right tool it is just after the cycle wing attempt and rear loking poppers I am not very good at the tension setting

Maybe if I had gone with a manual installation tool  but I opted for this one as the video looked like a no brainer 

https://www.eastwood.com/astro-pneumatic-rivet-nut-drill-adapter-kit.html?SRCCODE=PLA00020&gclid=Cj0KCQjw-r71BRDuARIsAB7i_QPgifx2WtBGX5EnlsxZZrQztXNdvMQX-pQsD5LDZ5nav4C8FwvKbjwaAn7-EALw_wcB

I have ordered these for sizing and testing I figure for 10 bucks I can give it a try 

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07QSFL4KP/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

#7 yes, on older cars the scuttle has 2 little 'ears' that sit below the level of the sides and attach to the chassis I used rivnuts in the chassis to secure thes 'ears'. I also used rivnuts in the dashboard loop to replace the self tappers that hold the poppers on for the tonneau. Hope that all makes sense....

Mine has a removable section (about 18" wide, L-shaped when viewed from the side) that gives access through the bulkhead.  Gives some limited access to the wiring without removing the scuttle.  I thought they were all like this until I saw the pictures above.

Gary,