Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Novice question - Xflow oil

steffan j granger

well here we go, a total novice with the first of many novice questions!

I've had my 7 for a year now and I'm just about to do my first service. Someone suggestion that I should NOT use synthetic oil in my XFlow. Bearing in mind it has been run on synthetic since it was reconditioned just before I got it, should I heed this advise and return to the ordinary stuff?

Also, can I have a little advise on timing? It has a high lift cam (was that at 244 or 944?), sports exhaust and twin 40 webbers.

Many thanks in anticipation.

D997 TGO

As I understand it, it's not a good idea to use fully synth and then go back to a mineral or part synth oil.

I've run my XFlow on Mobil 1 Motorsport, as recommended by Roger King, and seem to have good oil pressure. I also change my oil a lot more often than once a year, but I just like knowing that it's clean stuff in there.

The Mobil 1 motorsport oil is a 15w/50 whereas normal Mobil 1 is a 0w40 (unless it's changed?). When you were told not to use synthetic oil, I guess they meant a 0w oil or similar?

Take a look at the engine oil bible here

Den

😬 - Self portrait - still unable to remove the smile!

Edited by - Dirty Den on 16 Apr 2003 22:28:14

The advice you got was right - generally speaking you shouldn't use a synthetic oil in a standard crossflow. The crossflow is a 40 year old engine design - from way before synthetic oils had even been dreamt of! On a standard crossflow a synthetic oil will inhibit the natural wear required on the engine to run it in, and will not (necessarily) give you proper seals around the pistons and other compressed parts - this engine design _requires_ a certain thickness of oil.