Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Titan LSD - Warranty claim

Jeff210R

I have a Supersport R 210 with 5000 miles on the clock which is fitted with a Titan LSD. I am no expert on the performance of LSDs; however I have drained the oil and it is a filthy black liquid!  Additionally I have carried out the following check,  Wheel rotation check. With the rear of the car raised rotate one wheel. The opposite wheel should turn in the same direction. Non rotation or rotation in the opposite direction of the opposite wheel indicates possible internal failure of the LS unit.  One wheel turned in the wrong direction and one did not rotate at all!

The dealer has indicated he is prepared to refurbish the unit under warranty but only if the strip down confirms "failure".  Otherwise I would be liable for costs.

I should be grateful for anyone confirming my opinion that the bloody thing is knackered?  And that this could reasonably be considered a failure since I have only done a couple of hundred miles since purchase?

Additionally I am considering replacing the Titan with a Quaife.  How would the labour time for that compare with refurbishing the Titan?

Look forward to replies as ever.

Jeff

• Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Chris

It's a 2014. Since turning the wheel on one side doesn't impart any movement to the other side at all there isn't presumably any point in a pre-load?  Or am I missing something (which is quite possible)?  Your blog is awesome btw!

Jeff

I fear your right, and we both know where this is going.  The only benefit of a preload check would be to give a quantifiable number which you can used to pursue your warranty claim with.  Obviously if you don't have the socket or torque wrench don't worry about it, but if you do then it could be valuable information for your claim.