Click here if you are having website access problems ×

LED/Electrical problem

paul richards

• Area Representative

I decided to replace my high level LED brake light with 2 round LED lights. The new lights (cheap and made in China - isn't everything) are designed for use on a motorcycle as side and brake light. My original intention was simply to wire them up as brake lights but there is a reasonable distinction between the side and stop illumination so I decided to use them as intended for side and stop bearing in mind Caterham rear lights are quite poor (even with my JAL conversion).
Im no electrician but have a basic understanding and have wired them up using the sub loom I already had for my existing brake light and connected the new side lights to the correct feed in the harness for the rear side light. Existing side lights and new additional side lights work as expected. When ignition is on all side lights and brake lights (including all the new lights) work as expected. However when side lights are on and ignition is switched off the new high level brake lights go out when I press the brake pedal. I have replaced the new LED lights with "ordinary" lights and they work fine. Seems to be something within the new LED lights. I can of course simply ignore this and live with them as under normal use there is no real problem, but why they do this is bugging me. Any ideas.

"When ignition is on all side lights and brake lights (including all the new lights) work as expected. However when side lights are on and ignition is switched off the new high level brake lights go out when I press the brake pedal."

I don't understand... why do they "go out". Were they ON before you pressed the brake pedal?

Do the new lamps have resistors and diodes built into the unit or do you have to add them?

Do you have a multimeter?

Jonathan

He says, ignition off, sidelights on, and the new, high-level, lights (with sidelight function) go off when he steps on the brake.