Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Worried...

Andy-M

You'll have to bear with me because, as stated on several occasions, I'm a complete newbie when it comes to sevens and car maintenance in general.

On my way back from the Herts meet at Rushden on Sunday - just pootling down a perfectly straight and level bit of town tarmac there was a loud metallic sound from the front of the Seven.

There was nothing for us to hit - so I was confident we hadn't caught anything with the sump and being only a quarter mile or so from home I drove it back.

Having parked up in the garage I had a look under the car and think the sump looks somewhat lower than it used to - in fact measuring it there's now only 50mm of clearance between the sump and the tarmac with no one in the car!

I had a quick look under the bonnet and didn't notice anything "obviously" broken - but that probably means very little. I haven't had time to do a full inspection as I had to drive across to South Wales that evening and returned late last night.

Does anyone have any thoughts on where I should start looking (preferably idiot level guidance) and/or is there anyone around the Bedford area who'd be willing to come and take a look?

Check the engine mounts - try rocking the engine side to side and you may see it lift slightly on one side. They can break on the weld and return to original position so you cannot see the problem immediately.

Other symptoms are the gear leaver moving when you accelerate...

I presume that's cheap and easy for someone who knows what they're doing / has the proper kit :p.

Taking it to a garage would presumably be expensive as I'd imagine it's an engine out job?

Thanks - I'll try and figure out from the build manual where all this stuff is :). I really don't think I've hit the sump on anything significant at all :(.