Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Erratic speedo

Jeff210R

The speedo on my 2014 Supersport R 210 has started playing up suddenly.  Jumps around and then stops working completely; also the mileage has stopped recording.  But the LCD display is showing steady.  Anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks. Jeff

It's on the rear axle Jonathan.  It seems to be "Where the speedo needle moves erratically, especially at high speeds, and sometime sits resolutely on zero for minutes at a time" so I've checked the light emissions as suggested and it seems to be pulsing for all the teeth so it looks like the air gap is correct?  Or should I check that it is 1mm?

I'm not an expert on this, but while we're waiting...

... IIRC there have been reports of the light working when tested at rest but the speedometer becoming inaccurate at speed. So I'd set the gap as suggested.

Has any work been done recently in that area or near the wiring?

Jonathan

JK is right, you can get the lights flashing turning by hand but the needle will be bouncing about all over the place. 

On occasion, when I've had mine disconnected and replaced I've had it not work at all or drop out at 40+, 80+ or even higher. 

It's all to do with getting the right gap and it's not always 1mm. The last time I adjusted mine I started at 0.8 and worked out a tiny bit at a time till it functioned properly at 1.1mm. (certainly up to 95/100mph or so, haven't been  be any faster.)

It's tedious having to jack up and remove the wheel each time but you should get it in two or three goes.

The other thing I would mention is that mine has at times worked perfectly at 0.8, then at others it's needed up to 1.1, as I said. No idea why it should change.  

• Support Team

Mine is erratic and stops working over around 80mph, but as I only do that speed on track and I tend to watch the shift lights to think about what I'm doing rather than the speedo I can't be bothered to fix it.