Click here if you are having website access problems ×

Crossflow with weber alpha ignition

Alan.gilford

Starting to think my car doesn't like the Dartford tunnel.

After cutting out in the tunnel a few weeks ago but restarting ok once turned off and on again (you can tell i work in IT) yesterday in a huge queue to get to the tunnel she died and would not restart.

Eventually made it home on the back of a truck. This time it seems I have no spark when cranking.

Car has a wasted spark coil pack and I have ordered one that looks the same as suspect the heat may have finally killed it.

Tried for a spark on no 1 and number 2 as they use different windings with a spare plug resting on cylinder head but nothing. Leads were new last year.

There is a crank position sensor, a throttle position sensor and air temperature sensor  but I have no idea how to test them or which one if any would cause this.  

Car had cut out on a couple of previous occasions but always restarted and ran fine afterwards so sounds like something breaking down to me that has finally gone.

Anyone with experience of this ignition system have any advice please.

Many thanks

Alan

• Leadership Team

Not particularly helpful in the short term I suspect, but Northampton Motorsport are experts in the Weber Alpha ECU and are the only people I have found with a rolling road and the ability to re-program them.  Your issue sounds more fundamental though... Good luck diagnosing, hopefully someone will be along with suggestions soon...

I’ve got Weber Alpha 3D mapping in my Crossflow. Paperwork tells me it was fitted by Chris Wheeler of the Seven Workshop near Ware. (Well known in Caterham circles. He’s on a Eurotrip right now,)