Click here if you are having website access problems ×

K Series Cam Belt

Silver Machine

I am hoping to change the cam belt and tensioner on my 1997 supper sport. I have never done this job before so any advice would be appreciated including links to previous threads.

Did a little bit of exploring today and I think the hardest physical problem to overcome is  removing  the alternator pulley. I can lock the flywheel/cog thing with a screw driver but  I am not sure what size of bar to use as I don’t want to damage or snap anything.

Any help or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Alternator pulley ?

crank pulley perhaps .... Good luck. In my view it's a lot easier if a friend holds the bar in the ring gear whilst you undo the crank bolt. No doubt it's possible to do this on your own but ......

"A friend" writes:

I assembled my 7 but have very little mechanical experience. Changing the cam belt is the precise point at which I've chickened out and got someone else to do it. I strongly suspect I'm not alone. The effects of getting it wrong just seem too expensive.

I've watched the video and read lots of advice on BlatChat. But I'm not sure I'd fix the crank adequately with a screwdriver. I'd be more prepared to use a crank locking tool even if it meant taking the starter off. 

What could tip the balance for me (and others)?

• Someone standing next to me while I do mine
  • Practising on another engine. 

Is it ever covered with a chance to do one at a GTKY7 session?

What I am not looking for, and wouldn't tip the balance:

• Further instructions
  • Being told how easy it is.

A man's got to know his limitations.

Harry

I agree that watching/helping someone is the best way to gain confidence. I didn't have this opportunity .... so I took the plunge after watching that video. My top tip is spots of Tippex in two places on each toothed pulley and belt edge. Transfer spots to new belt ... then you can't be a tooth out.