Click here if you are having website access problems ×

6 Speed box

Red Seven

Hi all,

I'm a Tech Talk virgin, since I don't understand techtalk, so responses please in idiot proof terms!

I am contemplating buying a 1.8K with a 6 speed box. After 22,000 miles, should I expect gearbox problems, how much is a rebuild, and are rebuilds generally a path to perfection?

The car is a 97 build, so presumably an early six-speeder.

All thoughts appreciated

Jeff

If it's a std. 1800 the box will be very unstressed and shouldn't cause you grief with 22k on the clock.

A rebuild will depend what bits need replacing. If you need pretty much everything then it's uneconomical to rebuild it.

However, I believe the usual stuff that needs attention is selector forks and perhaps 5th gear.

Mine knackered up last year and Phil Stewart (Road Race Transmissions) rebuilt it for me. Cost 750GBP. I was told by people with less expertise of the box that I would need a new one (2200GBP or so).

If you want to know anything about the 6spd, talk to Phi (search the archives for his no.).

The only thing you should really pay good attention to is the oil being used (search the archives again) and to warm it through before caning it.

5th gear is now sorted on all cars. It was a known weakness in early 6 speed boxes. Generally you shouldn't expect any problems at all, but sometimes the selector forks are a problem and if you have a particularly powerful engine (220bhp or more) then you just have to stay off the kerbs when on track. 2nd gear failed rather spectacularly recently on one example.

There are a few upgrades and modifications that are possible, but you shouldn't worry about those yet. Pay particular attention to what gearbox oil you use. Do not use a full synth oil. Use a pretty standard EP80 that you can find at Halfords.

It's the best gearbox you can buy for the money. It's light too.