Click here if you are having website access problems ×

185/60 R14 Tyre Choice

cjn_uk

Hi,

This is my first post....so be gentle with me!

I bought my 2007 Roadsport 125 a couple of years ago. It is fitted with Avon ZV3's 185/60 R14. The car has only done 7000 miles so the tyres have good tread left and has been garaged so no UV damage....i've been checking all tyres and they are still in good condition.....however I was recently enlightened that tyres have a manufacturing date stamp and realised mine are original fitment circa 15 years old.....time to change them i think!!

I've done extensive searches in the forum looking for the right tyre to choose and have narrowed it down but I have a few remaining questions before I take the plunge if anyone has any views/information i'd be interested.

I am a fair weather driver so I wouldn't intentionally be out in the wet. The car is road use only at the moment so no track considerations right now. So here are my options and my questions.

Uniroyal Rain Expert 3 - this seems to be the touring tyre of choice in the forum. I'd be happy to go with the majority but i keep asking myself is there a better option at the price point for mainly dry driving?

Uniroyal Rain Expert 5 - fairly new tyre to replace the Expert 3 however i can't find any mention of this tyre in the forum. Has anyone got any experience of it yet? It is clearly a different tread pattern to the Expert 3 but i've no idea how to find any useful information about stiffness or compound....it might have got worse in the industry hunt for better efficiency and lower rolling resistance?!?!

Nankang NS-2R - this seems to fit the bill for my mainly dry driving but i'm worried the XL rating and weight might be an issue for road comfort....can anything be worse than 'wooden' ZV3's though?